The Heart Chakra


Discover the hidden forces within this gentle energy centre and learn how to open to greater love in your life.

The fourth chakra, the Heart chakra, is a bright green orb of light rotating along the spine in the middle of the chest.  It is the wellspring of love, warmth, compassion, and joy.

The Heart chakra (also called Anahata) is at the center of the chakra system and is therefore generally thought of as larger than all of the other chakras.   It moves love through your life.

The Heart chakra is the seat of unconditional love, compassion, limitless life, goodwill, and the tranquility found in balance. The Heart chakra is at the core of your liveliness and is thought of as the most intimate home for the Chi or Life Force.

Anahata, which translates to “unhurt,” this chakra is related to the heart and thymus. With the element of Air, this chakra represents the unseen medium that informs and connects all the energy of life. The Heart chakra can become unbalanced and result in heart diseases, immune system diseases, chronic fatigue, envy, possessiveness, and grief.

Anahata is an integrating and unifying chakra - bringing to wholeness - as such, it is your healing center. Indeed, most spiritual traditions recognize love as the ultimate healing force.

The energy of Anahata allows us to recognize that we are part of something larger, that we are interconnected within an intricate web of relationships extending through life and the universe.

Anahata allows us to recognize and get in touch with the sacred and fundamental truth that runs through all of life and connects everything together.

The "way of the heart" or the "path of the heart" is living your life from this energy center of love.

It means living your life with loving kindness and compassion towards others. It means that your heart is open to others and you inspire kindness and compassion in others. You create a safe and supportive environment.

Others can feel your love and warmth. They feel loved and accepted unconditionally. People feel at peace around you, as there is no judgment coming from you.

When Anahata is open and energy is flowing freely, you are not only loving to others, you are also loving to your self. You know when you need to say no and when you need care and self-nurturing.

While all of the seven chakras are important, Anahata is a significant one.  Most of the world's spiritual traditions recognize love as the unifying force, the energy that is the most fundamental part of the universe, and of ourselves.

To open to love is to reach to the deepest places and connect with our true essence, our spirit, and our soul.


Heart Chakra at a glance:

Sanskrit name: Anahata - unstruck
Element: Air
Color: Green
Shape: Crescent moon
Petals of the lotus: Twelve
Seed sound: Lam
Vowel sound: Ay
Rights: To love
Endocrine gland: Thymus
Physical association: Heart, lungs, circulatory system, arms, hands
Psychological function: Love
Identity: Social identity
Developmental stage: 3.5 to 7 years
Challenge: Grief
Plane: The plane of balance
Planets: Venus (lunar, feminine), Sun
Deity: Vishnu, Lakshmi, Krishna
Mythological Animal: Antelope, dove, birds
Sense organ: Skin
Predominant sense: Touch
Incense: Jasmin, lavender, rose
Herb: Yarrow, meadowsweet, orris root
Sephira: Tiphareth
Tarot suite: Swords


Heart Chakra Affirmations

I am open to love.

All love resides within my heart.

I deeply and completely love and accept myself.

I nurture my inner child. I am wanted and loved.

I live in balance, in a state of graceful-ness and gratitude.

I love the beauty of nature and the animal world. I forgive myself.

I am open to love and kindness.

I am grateful for all the challenges that helped me to transform and open up to love.

I am connected with other human beings.

I feel a sense of unity with nature and animals.

I accept things as they are.

I am peaceful.


When balanced and clean, this chakra becomes the engine of the physical body and produces experiences of universal and self-love, compassion, and interconnectedness.